Golf team selected to play in NCAA Super Regionals
Saturday, April 28, 2007
Golf team selected to play in NCAA Super Regionals

TIGERVILLE, SC--The NCAA announced the Division II Men's Golf Championships super regional seedings late Friday afternoon and for the second time in three years North Greenville receives a bid. The Crusaders are seeded eighth in the Southeast Regional.

The May 7-9 event will be held at Savannah Quarters Country Club in Savannah, GA and hosted by Armstrong Atlantic State University.

"Getting a bid is huge for the program because we are so young with three of our top five being freshmen," notes head coach Jeff Pittillo. "We're gonna go down there and try to play well and advance. It will be a great learning experience for our guys."

Joining NGU in the Southeast Regional is Columbus State, Armstrong Atlantic, USC-Aiken, USC-Upstate, Georgia College and State University, Presbyterian, and Lander.

Eighty teams and fifty individuals have been selected nationwide to participate in the super regionals. The sites and teams selected to participate are listed below. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institutionís name.

The five super regional tournaments encompass the current ten regions. The top team from each region within the super regional and the top individual not with a team from each super regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 22-25 at The Meadows in Allendale, Michigan. The finals will be hosted by Grand Valley State University.

Ten additional teams will earn berths to the finals. These teams will be determined based on the previous three-year average of top-10 finishes of a super regional at the finals. For the 2007 championships, the additional super regional allotments are as follows: Atlantic/Southeast -- Three South/South Central -- Four West/Northwest -- Three


Speidel Golf Club; Wheeling, West Virginia; hosted by West Liberty State College.

Northeast Region: 1. St. Thomas Aquinas 2. Pace 3. Bryant 4. Post [Central Atlantic Collegiate Conference] 5. Le Moyne 6. Goldey-Beacom 7. Assumption 8. Bentley [Northeast-10 Conference]

Individuals: 1. Brian Mackey, Dominican (New York) 2. Jantzen Vargas, Adelphi 3. Chris Menne, Massachusetts-Lowell 4. Tom Pollock, New Haven 5. Jamie Bacon, Saint Rose

East Region: 1. Charleston (West Virginia) [West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference] 2. Clarion 3. Millersville 4. Concord 5. Indiana (Pennsylvania) 6. Ohio Valley 7. Fairmont State 8. West Liberty State

Individuals: 1. Jared Miller, West Chester 2. Bryan Snow, Shepherd 3. Jon LaDovico, California (Pennsylvania) 4. Matthew Sullivan, West Chester 5. Trevor Hedges, Shepherd

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)


Savannah Quarters Country Club; Savannah, Georgia; hosted by Armstrong Atlantic State University.

Atlantic Region: 1. Barton [Carolinas-Virginia Athletics Conference] 2. Belmont Abbey 3. Anderson (South Carolina) 4. Pfeiffer 5. Coker 6. Mount Olive 7. Fayetteville State [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association] 8. Limestone

Individuals: 1. John Kolls, St. Andrews Presbyterian 2. Alvin Yeung, St. Andrews Presbyterian 3. Iain Hall, Queens (North Carolina) 4. Scott Kegerreis II, Queens (North Carolina) 5. Alfred Kristinsson, St. Andrews Presbyterian

Southeast Region: 1. Columbus State [Peach Belt Conference] 2. Armstrong Atlantic State 3. South Carolina-Aiken 4. South Carolina Upstate 5. GC & SU 6. Presbyterian [South Atlantic Conference] 7. Lander 8. North Greenville

Individuals: 1. Will Wilcox, Clayton State 2. Mathew Morrison, North Carolina-Pembroke 3. Chase Carroll, Tusculum 4. Chris Wynne, Tusculum 5. Kent George, Lenoir-Rhyne

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)


Twin Hills Golf and Country Club; Joplin, Missouri; hosted by Missouri Southern State University.

Central Region: 1. Washburn [Mid-America Intercollegiate Athletics Association] 2. Central Missouri State 3. Missouri Southern State 4. Missouri Western State 5. Bemidji State 6. Winona State [Northern Sun Intercollegiate Conference] 7. Southwest Baptist 8. Truman State

Individuals: 1. Nick Rotello, Ft. Hays State 2. Steven Busho, Minnesota-Crookston 3. Josh Wells, Upper Iowa 4. Kyle Peterson, Minnesota-Crookston 5. Craig Signorin, Upper Iowa

Great Lakes Region: 1. Northern Kentucky [Great Lakes Valley Conference] 2. Bellarmine 3. Indianapolis 4. Grand Valley State [Great Lakes Intercollegiate Athletic Conference] 5. Saginaw Valley State 6. Wayne State (Michigan) 7. Ferris State 8. Findlay

Individuals: 1. Kyle Lickenbrock, Southern Illinois Edwardsville 2. Seon Kim, Drury 3. Ben Bendtsen III, Wisconsin-Parkside 4. Corey Sell, Wisconsin-Parkside 5. Matt Springer, Saint Josephís (Indiana)

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)


Robert Trent Jones Trail at the Shoals; Florence, Alabama; hosted by the University of North Alabama.

South Region: 1. West Florida [Gulf South Conference] 2. Nova Southeastern [Sunshine State Conference] 3. Florida Southern 4. Florida Gulf Coast 5. Barry 6. Valdosta State 7. North Alabama 8. Lynn

Individuals: 1. Jeff Golden, Rollins 2. Justin Regier, Florida Tech 3. Jarred Carlyle, Arkansas Tech 4. B.J. Hawkins, Arkansas Tech 5. C.J. Denmark, Eckerd

South Central Region: 1. St. Edwardís [Heartland Conference] 2. Central Oklahoma 3. Abilene Christian 4. Northeastern State [Lone Star Conference] 5. Cameron 6. St. Maryís (Texas) 7. Midwestern State 8. Texas A&M-Commerce

Individuals: 1. Pat McCarthy, Southwestern Oklahoma State 2. Kent Neil, West Texas A&M 3. Tyler Kimrey, East Central 4. Rodolfo Gamino, Lincoln (Missouri) 5. Mack Hamilton, Southeastern Oklahoma State

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)


Fox Hollow Golf Club; Denver, Colorado; co-hosted by Regis University and Colorado School of Mines.

Northwest Region: 1. Colorado-Colorado Springs [Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference] 2. Western New Mexico 3. Colorado State-Pueblo 4. St. Cloud State 5. Minnesota State Mankato 6. Fort Lewis 7. Regis 8. Nebraska-Kearney

Individuals: 1. Brett Benson, Augustana (South Dakota) 2. Mark Vallee, Colorado School of Mines 3. Ryan Bak, South Dakota 4. Aaron Hieb, Augustana (South Dakota) 5. Nate Blanscet, Colorado Christian

West: 1. Cal State Stanislaus [California Collegiate Athletic Conference] 2. Grand Canyon 3. Sonoma State 4. Cal State San Bernardino 5. Western Washington 6. Cal State Chico 7. UC San Diego 8. Hawaii-Hilo

Individuals: 1. Peter Perkins, St. Martinís 2. Brian Keller, HPU 3. Hiro Nezu, St. Martinís 4. Olof Rosborg, St. Martinís 5. Spencer Adkins, Brigham Young-Hawaii

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)

For more information about the championships, log on to Highlights of the NCAA Division II Menís Golf Championships will be shown on CBS at 1:30 p.m. Eastern time, Sunday, July 1. The CBS seasonal show will feature highlights of 17 different NCAA championships that took place during the spring.