Mayes and Del Toro Earn All-Conference Honors
Friday, November 9, 2012
Mayes and Del Toro Earn All-Conference Honors

Conference Carolinas announces the All-Conference teams during this week’s upcoming Conference Carolinas Championship Volleyball Tournament. Awards include All-Conference First, Second, & Third teams, Player of the Year, Defensive Player of the Year, Coach of the Year, Freshman of the Year, and Divisional Regular Season Champions. Head coaches from conference member institutions nominate and then vote on the award winners who represent the best of the best for the league.

The conference championships start Saturday with the top eight teams qualifying for quarterfinal action. Semifinal play continues Wednesday with the championship final the following Saturday. All games are played at the highest remaining seed with the tournament champion receiving an automatic berth to the NCAA DII championships. 

Player of the Year

Kay Schellenberg, Belmont Abbey

Kay Schellenberg is the second player in school history to be named Player of the Year and the first since 2005. The senior setter from Jacksonville, Florida leads the conference in assists per set and total assists, as well as service aces per set. She directs an offense that leads the conference in hitting percentage, a total that has been ranked as high as third nationally, as well as league highs in kills per set and points per set.

Defensive Player of the Year

Payton Tipton, King

Payton Tipton has been an integral part of the Lady Tornado defense, totaling the second-most digs in conference play among her peers (226). She tallied a season-high 25 digs versus Francis Marion, just three short of her career high set as a freshman, and has seven matches with 20 or more digs even with her unselfish play. In addition to her defensive play, she has also contributed on offense, posting 20 service aces for King.

Freshman of the Year

Hannah Schellenberg, Belmont Abbey

Hannah Schellenberg is the Abbey’s second Freshman of the Year honoree and the first since 2007. She is the league leader in kills and points per set, and in conference matches, leads the league in kills. She has posted nine double doubles in 27 matches. She ranks fifth in the league in kills and fourth in hitting percentage.

Coach of the Year

Mary DeJute, Belmont Abbey

Mary DeJute is the winningest coach in Belmont Abbey history after just four years at the helm and becomes the first Abbey mentor to win Conference Coach of the Year honors. This season, she led the Abbey to school records in overall wins (23) and Conference wins (14). Under her leadership, the Abbey has set or tied the single season school record for wins in three of her four years. The Crusaders finished tied for first in the league standings after they were picked to finish sixth in the preseason poll.

All-Conference 1st-Team

Hannah Schellenberg, Belmont Abbey

Keri Kemp, Queens

Rebekah Mayes, North Greenville

Lauren Stewart, Erskine

Caitlin Bullock, Erskine

Rebecca Kerrison, Limestone

Kay Schellenberg, Belmont Abbey

All-Conference 2nd-Team

Angela Jubb, Belmont Abbey

Samantha Del Toro, North Greenville

Lindsey Everhart, Queens

Lydia Schellenberg, Belmont Abbey

Summer Kremer, King

Payton Tipton, King

Larz Chabra, Erskine

All-Conference 3rd-Team

Carly White, Mount Olive

Caitlin Hankins, Belmont Abbey

Anna Gibbs, Queens

Kati Wood, Barton

Kelly Lancellot, Pfeiffer

Brittany Bass, Coker

Olivia Underwood, King