Men's Indoor Track and Field Picked to Finish 3rd

Men's Indoor Track and Field Picked to Finish 3rd
Thursday, December 1, 2016
Men's Indoor Track and Field Picked to Finish 3rd

HIGH POINT, N.C. – North Greenville's men's track and field team picked to finish third in preason season rankings with 63 points. Three Crusaders make the Athletes to Watch list: Tre' Black, Terry Davis, and Kyle Joiner. 

The University of Mount Olive was picked to capture the 2016-17 Conference Carolinas Men's Indoor Track & Field Championship, the Conference office announced today.

The Trojans registered 78 points, including six first-place votes, to narrowly finish ahead of defending Conference Carolinas champion Limestone College. Mount Olive finished as runner-up in last year's indoor track & field championship after posting 185 points.

The Saints come in second in the preseason poll with 73 points and two first-place votes. Limestone will look to win its second straight conference title after scoring 196 points at last year's championship meet to take home the title.

While Barton College will enter the season as the fourth favorite with 54 points.

First-year full member Southern Wesleyan University was tabbed fifth with 50 points, but garnered a first-place vote from coaches. Lees-McRae College earned 48 points for a sixth-place finish and King University turned in 45 points to take seventh in the poll.

Closing out the poll is Belmont Abbey College in eighth with 31 points and Pfeiffer University in ninth with 26 points.

The 2016-17 Conference Carolinas indoor track & field season kicks off Dec. 3, 2016, with the Conference Carolinas Indoor Track & Field Championships to be held on Feb. 19, 2017.


2016-17 Men's Indoor Track & Field Preseason Poll

School (first-place votes)


1. Mount Olive (6)


2. Limestone (2)


3. North Greenville


4. Barton


5. Southern Wesleyan (1)


6. Lees-McRae


7. King


8. Belmont Abbey


9. Pfeiffer 26


2016-17 Conference Carolinas Men's Indoor Track & Field Athletes to Watch:

Sprints/Distance (Year):

Aaron Jones (Jr.) - Barton

Nihgel Scott (So.) - Barton

Semaj Street (Sr.) - Barton

Alex Abolos (So.) - Belmont Abbey

Thomas Eichorn (So.) - Belmont Abbey

Chris Thomas (Jr.) - King

Cody McNeely (Sr.) - Lees-McRae

Marquett Simmons, Jr. (Jr.) - Limestone

Marshawn Scott (Sr.) - Limestone

Joshua Simmons (So.) - Limestone (Hurdles)

Cedric Thomas (Sr.) - Mount Olive

Tre' Black (Jr.) - North Greenville

Cody Kelly (So.) - Pfeiffer

Jhante McMillan (Sr.) - Southern Wesleyan (Hurdles)

Marquise Jackson (Sr.) - Southern Wesleyan

Rico Holland (Sr.) - Southern Wesleyan

Jumps (Year):

Larry Russell (So.) - Barton

Vincent Okot (Sr.) - King

Christian Lloyd (Sr.) - Lees-McRae (Pole Vault)

Anthony Edwards (Sr.) - Mount Olive

Terry Davis (Sr.) - North Greenville

Kyle Joiner (So.) - North Greenville (Pole Vault)

Throws (Year):

Julian Smallwood (Fr.) - Belmont Abbey

Daryn Hughes (Fr.) - King

Nick Greyno (Sr.) - Mount Olive

Matt Chavers (Jr.) - Pfeiffer

Brad Depue (Sr.) - Pfeiffer