ICYMI: NGU Men's Tennis earns conference Sportsmanship Award

ICYMI: NGU Men's Tennis earns conference Sportsmanship Award
Tuesday, June 13, 2017
ICYMI: NGU Men's Tennis earns conference Sportsmanship Award

High Point, N.C. – With the completion of the spring season, Conference Carolinas is pleased to announce the Spring Team Sportsmanship Award winners for 2016-2017. These teams were recognized to have demonstrated the best sportsmanship in their Conference Carolinas sport, as voted by member coaches and student-athletes from all member institutions. Barton College, Belmont Abbey College, Converse College, King University, Limestone College, University of Mount Olive, North Greenville University, Pfeiffer University, and Southern Wesleyan University earned honors, bringing their institutions closer to the overall 2016-2017 Mesick Sportsmanship Award.

The sportsmanship awards are presented annually to the member institution judged to have exhibited the highest degree of sportsmanship among its players, coaches, and fans during their regular playing season. A Conference Carolinas institution will be awarded for its overall commitment to providing a quality-playing environment for home and visiting fans, players, and staff members. 

Conference Carolinas athletics directors implemented the process by which Conference Carolinas sportsmanship awards are determined. A student-athlete and coach work together to judge the sportsmanship of all conference competitors. Each institution then submits those votes to the conference office, where averages are calculated to decide the winner for each conference-sponsored sport. The school with the best average, across all conference sports, will receive the Messick Sportsmanship award at the end of the academic year.

The individual team sportsmanship awards are now in its seventh year, reflecting Conference Carolinas’ commitment to exhibiting and recognizing sportsmanship throughout the conference. As an NCAA Division II member, Conference Carolinas prides itself on creating a positive game environment through sportsmanship to ensure a positive experience for student-athletes and fans alike.


The 2016-2017 spring sportsmanship team award recipients:

Baseball – King University

Softball – Converse College

Men's Golf – University of Mount Olive

Women's Golf – Barton College

Men's Lacrosse – Belmont Abbey College

Women's Lacrosse – Limestone College

Men's Tennis – North Greenville University 

Women's Tennis – Converse College

Men's Outdoor Track & Field – Southern Wesleyan University 

Women's Outdoor Track & Field – Southern Wesleyan University

Men's Volleyball – Pfeiffer University