Coggins qualifies for NCAA Super Regional
Monday, April 28, 2008
Coggins qualifies for NCAA Super Regional
Brandon Coggins qualifies for NCAA Super Regional

INDIANAPOLIS---Eighty teams and 50 individuals have been selected to participate in the 2008 NCAA Division II Menís Golf Championships super regionals.

Brandon Coggins (Gaffney, SC) has been selected as one of five individual qualifiers from the Southeast Region. Coggins will compete in the Atlantic/Southeast Super Regional to be held at The Point Lake Golf Club in Belmont, NC. Belmont Abbey College will host the tournament.

The super regionals will be conducted May 5-7. The sites and teams selected to participate are listed below. Conference automatic qualifiers are indicated in brackets next to the institutionís name. The five super regional tournaments encompass the current ten regions.

The top team from each region within the super regional and the top individual not with a team from each super regional (regardless of region) will advance to the finals May 14-17 at the Division II Spring National Championships Festival in Houston, Texas. The finals will be hosted by Rice University and the Harris County-Houston Sports Authority.

Ten additional teams will earn berths to the finals. These teams will be determined based on the previous three-year average of top-10 finishes of a super regional at the finals. For the 2008 championships, the additional super regional allotments are as follows:

Atlantic/Southeast - Three
Great Lakes/Central Ė One
South/South Central - Three
West/Northwest - Three

The Point Lake Golf Club; Belmont, North Carolina; hosted by Belmont Abbey College.

Atlantic Region:
1. Barton
2. Belmont Abbey [Conference Carolinas]
3. Coker
4. Fayetteville State
5. Anderson (South Carolina)
6. Mount Olive
7. Pfeiffer
8. Virginia State [Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association]

1. Iain Hall, Queens (North Carolina)
2. Brad Williams, Limestone
3. Simon Bird, Queens (North Carolina)
4. Craig Parris, Limestone
5. Jack McClelland, St. Andrews Presbyterian

Southeast Region:
1. South Carolina-Aiken [Peach Belt Conference]
2. GC & SU
3. Columbus State
4. Clayton State
5. Lander
6. Armstrong Atlantic State
7. Newberry [South Atlantic Conference]
8. Carson- Newman

1. Chris Wynne, Tusculum
2. Allen Tuttle, Catawba
3. Brandon Coggins, North Greenville
4. Chase Carroll, Tusculum
5. Jakin Fox, Lenoir-Rhyne

Winner of each region advances to finals (2 teams, 1 individual)