VOTE! Roderick Howell advances to the finals of the #DarkHorseDunker bracket

VOTE! Roderick Howell advances to the finals of the #DarkHorseDunker bracket
Wednesday, March 20, 2019
VOTE! Roderick Howell advances to the finals of the #DarkHorseDunker bracket

CHICAGO- The fans have spoken three times and we need your votes one more! Roderick Howell is just one voting round away from a trip to the State Farm College Slam Dunk Contest. 

The semifinals came down to the final night as both players were around 50% of the vote but Howell pulled away in the early morning hours and wrapped up the win. He now faces Austin Butler from Whitman College who also advanced with a slim win. The details for the final round are below. 

Video highlight reels of each competitor on the website will help fans determine their choice in a bracket-style competition on The athlete with the most votes in each matchup will move on to the next round. Voting begins Feb. 19 at Noon CT and concludes March 22 at Noon CT. The schedule for each voting round will go as follows:

  • Finals: March 15 at Noon CT through March 22 at Noon CT (2 Players)

The player that ultimately receives the most votes in the final round will be selected to compete in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships, an event featuring some of the best college dunkers and 3-point shooters in the country. The 2019 State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships will air live on ESPN during college championship weekend in Minneapolis at 8 p.m. CT on April 4.

The following are the 16 “Dark Horse Dunkers” competing in the contest for their chance to showcase their talents in the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships:


Austin Butler – Whitman College

Roderick Howell – North Greenville University

Previous State Farm “Dark Horse Dunker” winners include Max Pearce (Purchase College) in 2018, Antonius Cleveland (Southeast Missouri State) in 2017, Yunio Barrueta (Barry University) in 2016, Davene Carter (Tarleton State) and Antjuan Ball (West Texas A&M) in 2015, Marcus Lewis (Eastern Kentucky) in 2014, Corey Law (High Point) in 2013, James Justice (Martin Methodist College) in 2012, and Jacob Tucker (Illinois College) in 2011. Lewis, Justice and Tucker all went on to win the College Slam Dunk Championship.

For more information about the State Farm College Slam Dunk & 3-Point Championships go to like us on Facebook and follow us on Twitter (@CollegeSLAM).

About State Farm®
The mission of State Farm is to help people manage the risks of everyday life, recover from the unexpected, and realize their dreams. State Farm and its affiliates are the largest providers of auto and home insurance in the United States. Its nearly 19,000 agents and approximately 65,000 employees serve approximately 83 million policies and accounts – approximately 81 million auto, fire, life, health and commercial policies and approximately 2 million bank accounts. Commercial auto insurance, along with coverage for renters, business owners, boats and motorcycles, is available. State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company is the parent of the State Farm family of companies. State Farm is ranked No. 36 on the 2018 Fortune 500 list of largest companies. For more information, please visit

About Intersport

Since 1985, Intersport has been an award-winning innovator and leader in the creation of sports, lifestyle, culinary and entertainment-based marketing platforms. With expertise in Sponsorship Consulting, Experiential Marketing, Hospitality, Customer Engagement, Content Marketing, Productions and Sports Properties, this Chicago-based Marketing & Media Solutions Company helps their clients to create ideas, content and experiences that attract and engage passionate audiences. To learn more about Intersport, visit, like us on Facebook or follow us on Twitter and Instagram.