Harrison earns second straight Player of the Year award
Tuesday, May 10, 2011
Harrison earns second straight Player of the Year award

 North Greenville University’s Paul Harrison (Alpharetta, GA) won his second straight NCAA Division II Independent Player of the Year honor on Friday, May 6, as announced by ICAA Director Mike Bond.

Harrison’s Crusaders set a school record for wins and took home the D-II Independent team title, and NGU Head Coach Chad Lister was named the Independent Coach of the Year amongst NCAA Division II basketball institutions that include NGU, Central State University, Washington Adventist University, University of the District of Columbia, Oakland City University, Palm Beach Atlantic University and Urbana University.

Harrison, a junior forward for the 22-7 Crusaders, earned his second straight Independent Player of the Year award after averaging team-highs of 18.2 points and 8.6 rebounds per game.  He shot 61.8% from the field for the Crusaders.  As a freshman, Harrison was named the 2008-09 Independent Freshman of the Year after averaging 16 points and 9.3 rebounds per contest on 57.3% shooting. 

Luke Lattimer, a junior forward from South Bend, IN, was named to the NCAA D-II Independent Third Team after finishing the season second on the team with 10.2 points per game. He also averaged 3.8 rebounds per game and 1.3 points per game in gaining Third Team honors.

Chris Dean, a guard from Greer, S.C., also picked up a postseason award as he was selected to the NCAA D-II Independent All-Freshmen Team. In 27 games, Dean average 7 points per game on a solid 48.8% shooting from the floor. He also shot 34.1% from beyond the arc and 86.4% from the free throw line to go along with 2.2 rebounds per game.

Coach Lister led the Crusaders to a school record for wins in his 9th season.  He has increased the number of wins in 7 of his 9 seasons at the helm, and his squad outscored their opponents by more than 13 points per game this season on 49.9% shooting.  The 2010-11 season was the Crusaders last as an NCAA D-II Independent, as they are set to join Conference Carolinas next season. 

Below are the final standings, along with all of the 2010-11 NCAA D-II Men’s Basketball All-Independent Team selections.

2010-11 Men’s Basketball Final Standings

1. North Greenville University (22-7, .759)

2. Oakland City University (20-12, .625)

3. Central State University (14-12, .538)

4. Palm Beach Atlantic University (12-13, .480)

5. University of the District of Columbia (11-15, .423)

6. Washington Adventist University (10-18, .357)

7. Urbana University (9-17, .346)


Coach of the Year – Chad Lister – North Greenville 

Player of the Year – Paul Harrison – North Greenville

Freshman of the Year – Yancey Duckett – Oakland City


Nigel Munson – Univ. of D.C.^                         JR         G     Washington D.C.

Brandon Herbert - Univ. of D.C.                       JR         G     Baltimore, Maryland

Rob WilsonUrbana                                       SO          F     Streetsboro, Ohio

Paul Harrison – North Greenville!!                JR          F     Alpharetta, Georgia

Greg Rice – Central State                                   JR          F     Covington, Kentucky


Wesley Jones – Central State                             SR         G     Maysville, Kentucky

Jonathan Lawrence – Palm Beach Atlantic        SR         G     Miami Gardens, Florida

Jared Maners – Oakland City!                           SR         G     Spencer, Indiana

Jamie Newton – Washington Adventist             SR         G     Laurel, Maryland

David Wood – Palm Beach Atlantic                  SR         G     Ft. Lauderdale, Florida


Gerald Campbell – Central State                        JR          F     Gary, Indiana

Luke Lattimer – North Greenville                  JR          F     South Bend, Indiana

Khalid Martin – Washington Adventist^            SR          F     Washington D.C.

Sharif Muhammad Jr. – Urbana                         JR          F     Brooklyn, New York

Eric Peguero – Washington Adventist               SR         G     Silver Spring, Maryland

! – Past First Team Selections

# - Past Second Team Selections

^ - Past Third Team Selections


Philip Izevbehai – Univ. of D.C.                       FR         G     Long Island, New York

Ziad Ashmawy – Univ. of D.C.                        FR          F     Cairo, Egypt

Chris Dean – North Greenville                       FR         G     Greer, South Carolina

Yancey Duckett – Oakland City                        FR         G     Bartlesville, Oklahoma

Billy Newton – Oakland City                            FR          F     Centerpoint, Indiana