Gantt and Richmond named to All-ICAA team
Friday, March 23, 2007
Gantt and Richmond named to All-ICAA team

HOLLY, MI - Balance was the name of the game as all nine school were represented on the All-ICAA Division II team. Florida Gulf Coast, who won the 2006-07 Menís National Independent Tournament, led the way with three selections. The ICAA members are Brevard, Central State, Columbia Union, University of D.C., Flagler, Florida Gulf Coast, North Greenville, Palm Beach Atlantic and Tiffin.

North Greenville was represented by Amonzo Gantt and Jordan Richmond, who both were named to the second team. Gantt averaged 14.9 points and 9.6 rebounds per game. Richmond led the team in scoring with 15.3 points per game.

Dave Balza of Florida Gulf Coast was selected as Coach of the Year. The Eagles finished 27-6 and beat Central State to win the National Independent Tournament in their last year at Division II. FGC will be a NCAA Division I provisional member in the fall of 2007.

Player of the Year went to Sam Jozenville (Sr./Orlando, Fla.) of Flagler. He averaged 19.5 points, 6.3 rebounds and two assists per game in 27 games. Jozenville shot 60.2% from the floor and 78.9% from the line. He edged Beau Bauer (Sr./Walton, Ind.) of Florida Gulf Coast by one point.

Freshman of the Year was Jonathan Whitson (Fr./Clyde, N.C.) of Brevard. He averaged 17 points and 8.5 rebounds a game with 32 blocks in 27 games. Whitson shot 48.6% from the floor and 70% from the line.


Beau Bauer - Florida Gulf Coast G Sr. Walton, Indiana
Sam Jozenville - Flagler F Sr. Orlando, Florida
P.J. Mills - Central State F Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Darren Travis - Columbia Union
Jonathan Whitson - Brevard F Fr. Clyde, North Carolina

Derek Barnes - Palm Beach Atlantic G So. Houston, Texas
Amonzo Gantt - North Greenville F Sr. Royston, Georgia
Ryan Pessell - Tiffin C Jr. Fostoria, Ohio
Jordan Richmond - North Greenville F Sr. Russellville, Arkansas
Charlie Smallwood - Univ. of DC G Jr. Palmer Park, Maryland

William Gaines - Central State G Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
Adam Liddell - Florida Gulf Coast F Jr. Auburn, Indiana
Rob Quaintance - Florida Gulf Coast G Jr. Glendale, Arizona
Willie Shaw - Univ. of DC F Jr. Alexandria, Virginia
Sean Tucker - Palm Beach Atlantic F So. Charlotte, North Carolina