Built in 1950, Hayes Gymnasium is one of the oldest buildings on the campus of North Greenville University. The gym has seen NGU athletics rise from junior college to NAIA to NCAA Division II. Currently, Hayes Gymnasium hosts men's and women's basketball as well as men's and women's volleyball.
The original gymnasium was a small facility, but it has received many additions over the years. In 1962, a wing was added, which added classrooms and offices to the facility. The pool beside the gym was added in 1965.
A unique feature of Hayes Gymnasium is its low ceiling on one half of the court. This is because of the original layout of the gym, which was much smaller.
In 1976, the gym was remodeled to its current configuration, which allowed for more seating, more space, and even more basketball goals. The gym was also dedicated Hayes Gymnasium at this time.
Hayes Gymnasium has continued to receive upgrades in recent years. New scoreboards and shot clocks were installed in the early 2000s. Over the summer in 2016, the entire court was replaced with today's unique "gray" court and the remaining original wooden bleachers were replaced at the same time. In November 2016, a new LED lighting system was installed. The latest update to the gymnasium was completed on November 28, 2017 when new Nevco scoreboards and shot clocks were installed.