Wednesday, May 13, 2009

North Greenville University athletics celebrated the culmination of the 2008-2009 year with its annual awards banquet, and Travis NeeSmith, a senior football player, and Stephanie Tyrpak, a senior tennis player, were named the Male and Female Scholar Athletes of the Year.

NeeSmith, a wide receiver from Charlotte, NC, has a 3.867gpa in Accounting major, and Tyrpak, who led the tennis team to the NCCAA National Championship tournament, is a native of John’s Island, SC, and she earned a 4.0 gpa in her Broadcast Media major.

The Crusader spring sport coaches also honored their top players at the banquet held in the Todd Dining Hall:

Baseball 2009  (Head Coach – Travis Henson)
Academic Award:  Grayson Smith
Christ-Centered Award:  Justin Walters
Gold Glove:  Dayton Lupton
King of the Hill:  Devin Vance
Silver Slugger:  Derek Fulmer
Servant Award:  Tyler Callicut
Spark Plug Award:  Rand Stegall

Men’s Basketball 2008-2009 (Head Coach - Chad Lister)
Academic Award:  Tyler Mains   
Christ-Centered Award:  Kyler Booher
Top Newcomer:   Paul Harrison
Offensive FG Percentage:  Kyler Vitko   (59%)

Women’s Basketball   2008-2009 (Head Coach – Jayne Arledge)
Most Valuable Player    -    Amanda Milner
Best Newcomer  -   Karly Stache
Coaches’ Award    -  Nikki Wood
Christ-Centered --  Whitney Smith
Academic Award -   Whitney Smith

Golf  2009  (Head Coach – Jeff Pittillo)
MVP – Brandon Coggins
Low Stroke Average – Brad Caldwell
Most Improved – Harrison MartinAcademic Award – Brandon Coggins
Christ Centered – Tyler Batts

Softball 2009 (Head Coach – Jan McDonald)
Academic Award:  Allison Bailey
Christ-Centered Award:  Ashley Warlick
Most Improved:  Jessica Turner
Most Outstanding:  Lindsey Eargle
Coaches Award:  Kristyn Smith
Best Teammate :  Sarah Griffith
Softball NCCAA All Region:

Lindsey Eargle
Hope Brewer
Kristyn Smith
Allison Bailey
Softball NCCAA All Academic Team:

Tia LaFreniere
Allison Bailey
Jessica Turner

Tennis  2009 (Head Coach – Mark Elliot)
Academic Award –Ben Fleming
Christ Centered – T.C. Ford
Coaches Award – Jacob Rogers
MVP – Gabriel Altmayer
Academic Award – Stephanie Tyrpak
Christ Centered – Courtney Lynn
Coaches Award –  Cherie Curtis
MVP – Salem Erni